Biggest presence ever for Bute Motorsport at Autosport International


Monday 18th December 2017


Bute Motorsport, organisers of the GT Cup and LMP3 Cup Championships will return to the Autosport International show (11/14 January 2018) with its biggest presence to date, occupying stand number 2620 in the main hall.


Displayed on the stand will be Graham Davidson’s double-GT Cup winning McLaren MP4-12C, with which he took both the Group GTO and Overall Championships in 2017. The car has significant pedigree in the GT Cup, having previously been owned and raced to GTO success by fellow Scot Jim Geddie in 2014.


The GT Cup returns for its 11th season in 2018, with 22 rounds over eight venues across the UK and Europe. A brand-new Group, GTH, has been launched for the new season, catering for the growing popularity of homologated GT4 machinery.


With the growth in the GT4 category and the demand for such a Group being requested by current and new teams and drivers joining the GT Cup in 2018, Bute Motorsport is delighted to expand to 5 Groups; GTA, GTH, GTB, GTC, and GTO.


The GT Cup is synonymous with listening and responding to its competitors, and having already welcomed a range of GT4 machinery into the GTA Group in 2017 the addition was seen as a needed technical development to continue to enhance and satisfy the market demands upon the Championship.


This move will provide a dedicated Group to those who have raced in GTA this year using GT4 machinery, such as the Ginetta G55, Porsche Cayman, Aston Martin Vantage, and the McLaren 570S, and additionally for the anticipated entries of new cars such as the Mercedes AMG, Audi R8 LMS, and BMW M4, with several teams close to GT Cup taking ownership of new cars this winter.



2018 GT Cup / LMP3 Cup Championship schedule:


21/22 April   Donington Park National

19/20 May   Brands Hatch GP

2/3 June   Spa Francorchamps

30 June/1 July Snetterton 300

14 July   Oulton Park *

11/12 August  Snetterton 300 *

8/9 September  Donington Park GP

13/14 October  Silverstone GP


* Standalone GT Cup event




© Bute Motorsport Limited 2015