Rattenbury strikes Silverstone gold with

overall pole position


Sunday 2nd July 2017


Jake Rattenbury secured a superb first overall GT Cup pole position of the season in qualifying for the 50-minute endurance race at Silverstone’s GP circuit.


Victorious in GTC group in the previous race from the Northamptonshire circuit, the MTECH/Wildwater Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo driver went a step further by snatching pole position outright in a session-long battle with Graham Davidson’s GTO McLaren. An ecstatic Rattenbury said “I’m super happy because I didn’t expect that! A calm lap and I think we got a stroke of luck that the others have lost a bit of pace from yesterday. It’s a bit warmer this morning. If the GTO cars come into their own then I’m prepared to be sensible and take the group points for myself.”


Winner in both of Saturday’s races overall, Scot Davidson said that he had to work hard on used tyres to grab the GTO pole position after a tight battle with the National Motorsport Academy Mosler of Kevin Riley and Gareth Downing.


“We got it done so it will be a very close race!” he said. “The tyres I chose were the Pirellis that did running on Friday and at Donington, so I’m surprised with the pace. It’s amazing how you can go from being so confident from one day to the next - you have to really concentrate and work hard to get those results.”


Fresh from a brace of victories in the GTB group the previous day, John Saunders will start from pole position in the TCS Motorsport Ginetta G50 he shares with Patrick Scharfegger. Battling with the BMW of Tom Webb and James Webb, Saunders welcomed the battle ahead of what he expects to be a tight encounter in GTB.


“We went out and Patrick set a good time straight away”, said Saunders. “The car was warmed up really nicely, then on the last lap we just squeezed past the Webbs which we’re getting better at doing recently! It’s nice when you’re on the radio and they’re telling you your times are good all the time.”


Fresh from a race two victory, Dominic Paul added pole position in group GTA as he looks to continue his push for the overall GT Cup title.


“It’s hard to get a good lap, but it’s great to get pole again”, said Paul. “I’ve got the 45-second success penalty to make up during the race so it could be a hard battle to make that up. We’ll make some set-up changes and be ready for a close race with some tight opposition.”




Group GTO

1: Graham Davidson – McLaren MP4/12 GT3

2: Gareth Downing/Kevin Riley – Mosler GTO

3: Nigel Hudson/Adam Wilcox – Aston Martin GT3


Group GTC

1: Jake Rattenbury – Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo

2: Andy Demetriou – Porsche 991 GT3 Cup

3: Graham Lucking/Leyton Clarke – Ferrari 458 GTC


Group GTB

1: John Saunders/Patrick Scharfegger – Ginetta G50

2: Tom Webb/James Webb – BMW ME E46 GTR

3: Neil Huggins – Lamborghini Gallardo Super Trofeo LP570-4


Group GTA

1: Dominic Paul – Ginetta G55 GT4

2: Mick Mercer/Gary Smith – Ginetta G55 GT4

3: Brent Millage – Ginetta G55 GT4

© Bute Motorsport Limited 2015