Davidson continues march towards double championship success at Donington


Sunday 17th September 2017


Graham Davidson claimed pole position for this afternoon’s 50-minute GT Cup endurance race following a stop-start session which had two red-flag periods. The Group GTO and overall championship snatched pole from rival Nigel Hudson in the latter stages of the session with a time of 1m29.166 in his McLaren MP4/12-C.


"It was a sprint to get a good lap with a lot of traffic", Davidson said. "I had two flying laps to end the session, and both of them were good. I didn't think I'd done enough, but the second effort was even better than yesterday!"


Jake Rattenbury, hoping to secure the Group GTC title, snatched the top spot his Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo amid the drama of the stop-start session, happy that he managed to get a quick lap in. “Yeah, its been a good day,” said Rattenbury. “It was a messed up session really, but I got a good lap time in there.”


In Group GTB, James Webb grabbed pole in his BMW M3 E46 GTR. “I was very very stressed out,” said Webb. “I went out on warm tyres and pretty much immediately we had a red flag. In the end we didn’t get the cleanest lap, but we still qualified first. It’s going to be an interesting race.”


The top spot for Group GTA was claimed by another championship hopeful, as Dominic Paul tried to make amends after a disappointing Saturday.“We changed a bit on the setup overnight, we’ve got a good setup,” Paul explained. “Every lap I was doing a quicker lap.”


Qualifying results:


Group GTO

1: Graham Davidson – McLaren MP4/12 GT3

2: Nigel Hudson/Adam Wilcox – Aston Martin GT3

3: Gareth Downing – Mosler MT900


Group GTC

1: Jake Rattenbury – Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo

2: Bonamy Grimes/Johnny Mowlem


Group GTB

1: James Webb – BMW M3 E46 GTR

2: Neil Huggins – Lamborghini Gallardo Super Trofeo LP570-4

3: Nick / Tom Barrow - BMW V10 150 GTR


Group GTA

1: Dominic Paul - Ginetta G55 GT4

2: Stewart / Lewis Proctor - McLaren 570S GT4

3: Esmee Hawkey - Porsche Cayman GT4

© Bute Motorsport Limited 2015